Installing an amp with the stock head unit

Not sure what you can do to make your car go BOOM? Post all car audio questions for the 9G here...
elizle
Lurker
Lurker
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 5:53 pm

Installing an amp with the stock head unit

Postby elizle » Sun Aug 24, 2008 5:58 pm

Hi,
I am posting this for my cousin. He has a 06 Galant and he bought some subs and an amp. I have been looking around to see what I need to do to install an amp for subs on the stock head unit. I would like some information, but I am kinda lost. I have installed my amp and subs in my car, but I have an aftermarket head unit so it is pretty straight forward. Any information would be great. Just redirecting me to the right place would be fine. I searched a little on here but I didn't find anything. Sorry for the noob post.
Thanks,
Eli


User avatar
o1naturalhigh
GF Made
GF Made
Posts: 3316
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 5:00 pm
Year/Make/Model: 01 ES
Engine: 46G4
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Installing an amp with the stock head unit

Postby o1naturalhigh » Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:01 pm

http://cgi.ebay.com/Farenheit-Impulse-Hardwired-RF-FM-Modulator-New_W0QQitemZ360081846080QQihZ023QQcategoryZ14932QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem#ebayphotohosting

don't know if there are any outputs in back of a 06 stock deck though. if there is...no need for the rf modulator
Last edited by o1naturalhigh on Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
QnzMostWanted
GF Made
GF Made
Posts: 2144
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 5:00 pm
Year/Make/Model: 2001 Mitsubishi Galant ES V6
Engine: 6G74*
Location: Queens NY
Contact:

Re: Installing an amp with the stock head unit

Postby QnzMostWanted » Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:02 pm

nah u dont need that Chris, u just need a RCA inverter to convert high level speaker outputs into low level RCA, once u ahve that its straight forward,
99 ES 5spd...
Image
"The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist"
Word of the year is LLAMA
When all else fails, Blame BEZZLE
~Denver - I Pretty Much Piss Excellence~
~My "Better" is better than your "Better"!~
User avatar
o1naturalhigh
GF Made
GF Made
Posts: 3316
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 5:00 pm
Year/Make/Model: 01 ES
Engine: 46G4
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Installing an amp with the stock head unit

Postby o1naturalhigh » Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:03 pm

oh ok..nvm then...listen to the vampire...:P
User avatar
Prophet
CEO
CEO
Posts: 5746
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 5:00 pm
Year/Make/Model: 2001 Mitsubishi Galant
Engine: 4G64
Location: 707 Bay Area
Contact:

Re: Installing an amp with the stock head unit

Postby Prophet » Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:03 pm

Moved to the correct forum...
- Jason
TheRev
GF Driven
GF Driven
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 7:59 pm
Location: Connecticut
Contact:

Re: Installing an amp with the stock head unit

Postby TheRev » Sun Sep 14, 2008 5:05 pm

Hey if it matters, my GTZ came with a factory amp made by Infinity, its located under the passanger side seat, you will need to do an Amp bypass.

~Gabe
Image
User avatar
Gmoney400
Lurker
Lurker
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:36 am
Location: Bucks County PA
Contact:

Re: Installing an amp with the stock head unit

Postby Gmoney400 » Sun Oct 05, 2008 3:26 am

pwned lol jk =)
And I feel this coming over like a storm again.
Considerately.
Image
kevinkws
Lurker
Lurker
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 2:37 pm

Re: Installing an amp with the stock head unit

Postby kevinkws » Sat Apr 04, 2009 5:34 am

not really sure there is sub outputs on a stock deck u might need to get a aftermarket deck

Return to “9G - Car Audio”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest